Quantcast

In Comes ‘Company’ as Tennessee Rep Closes 29th Season

company (6 of 12)Tennessee Repertory Theatre closes its 29th season of professional theater with Stephen Sondheim’s multiple Tony Award-winning musical Company. The revival of the landmark 1970 work runs Saturday (March 22) through April 12 at Tennessee Performing Arts Center’s Johnson Theater (after the second of two preview performances today).

The clashing sounds and pulsing rhythms of New York City underscore the show that helped usher in a new era of musical theater in America and elsewhere. On his 35th birthday, bachelor Bobby searches for the answers to love and life in the Big Apple. While enjoying the company of women, he observes both the joys and pitfalls of marriage from his five quirky couple friends – but is he ready? Only Bobby can find the answer regarding the ties that bind (or don’t).

Tennessee Rep favorite Patrick Waller stars in the lead role of Bobby.  The production also features an all-star cast that celebrates Tennessee Rep’s past, present, and future and includes Nancy Allen as Jenny, Jeff Boyet as Paul, David Compton as Harry, Galen Fott as Larry, Melissa Hammans as Kathy, Mia Rose Ernst as April, Laura Matula as Marta, Megan Murphy-Chambers as Amy, Shelean Newman as Sarah, Chris Simonsen as David, J. Karen Thomas as Susan, Martha Wilkinson as Joanne and Garris Wimmer as Peter.

Since 1985 Tennessee Repertory Theatre has been a critically acclaimed regional theater creating high quality professional productions that serve as a prime cultural, educational, and economic resource within the Nashville and Middle Tennessee communities. For more information on Tennessee Rep please visit www.tennesseerep.org.

Performance Schedule:

Company, music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by George Furth

Directed by René D. Copeland with Musical Direction by Timothy O. Fudge

March 22 – April 12 at TPAC’s Johnson Theater

Friday, March 21, 7:30 PM (PREVIEW)

Saturday, March 22, 7:30 PM

Tuesday, March 25, 6:30 PM

Wednesday, March 26, 6:30 PM

Thursday, March 27, 6:30 PM

Friday, March 28, 7:30 PM

Saturday, March 29, 2:30 PM and 7:30 PM

Tuesday, April 1, 6:30 PM

Wednesday, April 2, 6:30 PM

Thursday, April 3, 6:30 PM

Friday, April 4, 7:30 PM

Saturday, April 5, 2:30 PM and 7:30 PM

Tuesday, April 8, 6:30 PM

Wednesday, April 9, 6:30 PM

Thursday, April 10, 6:30 PM

Friday, April 11, 7:30 PM

Saturday, April 12, 2:30 PM and 7:30 PM

Tickets:  Starting at $45 (starting at $11.50 for students with valid ID, some restrictions apply). Tickets for preview performances are $25. Cabaret table seating upgrade is available for an additional $7.50 per ticket. Tickets are on sale at the TPAC Box Office (at 505 Deaderick Street, Downtown Nashville). Tickets are available by phone at (615) 782-4040 or online at www.tennesseerep.org.

*Photo by Shane Burkeen courtesy Tennessee Repertory Theatre.

Print Friendly