NaFF Announces Festival’s First Annual Screenwriting Honors

NaFFScreenwriterAwardsThe Nashville Film Festival (NaFF) announced the winners of its First Annual Screenwriter Awards today at Regal Green Hills Stadium 16.

In the first year of the Nashville Film Festival Screenwriters Competition, the organization garnered over 1,500 entries. NaFF Screenwriting Manager Michael Wood says, “In our first year hosting this competition, we read so many great screenplays. We can only imagine that filmmakers and producers from all over the globe will be clamoring to work with these writers.”

2014 Nashville Film Festival Screenwriter Awards

Drama Feature
Winner: Little Silver Heart – Lonas Taylor 

Runner-Up: Vulture’s Row – Alfred Thomas Catalfo 

Comedy Feature
Winner: hAPPy – Sam Friedlander 
Runner-Up: Male Order – Amanda Darling 

Action/Adventure Feature
Winner: Will Powers – Andrew Eisen

Runner-Up: In Debt Deep – Andrew Brown 

Thriller/Horror Feature
Winner: Vulture’s Row – Alfred Thomas Catalfo 

Runner-Up: Sold! – Allen C. Gardner 

Family Feature
Winner: Yes, Bub – Elisabeth Annacone

Runner-Up: The Spirit Flyer – Jonathan Vermeer & Bart Morse 

Inspirational Feature
Winner: Bring It Home – Kari Redmond & Ben Davies

Runner-Up: William, Will You Dance? – Mary Huckstep 

Music-Inspired Feature
Winner: Dead Man Blues – Jefferson McClure

Runner-Up: Man at the Top – Larry Shulruff

Animation Feature
Winner: Tank’s – Randall C. Willis 

Runner-Up: The Princess Honeybee – James McFarlane 

Historical Feature
Winner: The Poem – Dawn Wise 

Runner-Up: Newton’s Laws of Emotion – Eugene Ramos

Science Fiction Feature
Winner: Heroman – Timucin Leflef 

Runner-Up: The Beginning – Elise Carr & Dennis Carr 

Tennessee Screenwriter Feature
Winner: Driving Top Down – Elvis Wilson

Runner-Up: The Sound of the Sword – Ryan Estabrooks and Amber Bartlett

Drama Short
Winner: The Lost Cause – Jeffrey Rubin 

Runner-Up: Cocaine Eyes – Alexander Briley 

Comedy Short
Winner: The Bride of Frankie – Devi Snively 

Runner-Up: Power Wash – Linda Rumney 

Action/Adventure Short
Winner: The Ten Mile – Tarp Jones

Runner-Up: Celara Electric – Lee McQueen 

Thriller/Horror Short
Winner: The Ants Go Marching – Charles Dillon Ward

Runner-Up: Memento – Stuart Creque 

Family Short
Winner: Pipe Dream – Sundae Jahant-Osborn 

Runner-Up: Escape – Diana Zimmerman & Brad Jost

Inspirational Short
Winner: Long Distance Call – Sussu Laaksonen

Runner-Up: Shit-House Crazy – Julie Akeret 

Music-Inspired Short
Winner: A Certain Romance – Anthony Cawood 

Animation Short
Winner: The Hunter – Wade Balance 

Runner-Up: The Dreamscape Aquarium – David Serra

Historical Short
Winner: Scorched Earth – Skye Lynch 

Science Fiction Short
Winner: Every Lady Has A Silver Lining – Tishema Jones Al-Amin

Runner-Up: In A Forest – Ryan Sprague 

Tennessee Screenwriter Short
Winner: The Department of Signs and Magical Intervention – Melissa Anderson Sweazy 

Runner-Up: Mulligan – Caleb Stallings 

TV Drama Pilot
Winner: Ordnung – Aaron Rollins

Runner-Up: Valleywood – Grete Heinemann

TV Comedy Pilot
Winner: Roomies – Kristin Cantrell

Runner-Up: Foxy Naught – Karen Rouse 

Young Screenwriter Short
Winner: Family Portrait – Michael Flynn 

Runner-Up: Outpost Bravo – Joshua Taylor

The 45th annual Nashville Film Festival concludes Saturday. Click here for the schedule page of the festival’s website.

*Photo courtesy Nashville Film Festival.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email